top of page
  • Carsten Brinkschulte

Silvanet nominated for the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg 2021

Updated: Feb 16

wildfire detection

Dryad’s Silvanet system, providing ultra-early detection of wildfires, was nominated for the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg 2021. Dryad submitted the innovation as part of this year's competition of the states of Berlin and Brandenburg and was nominated as one of ten companies for the prestigious Innovation Award.

"The nomination for the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg is a great event for our company. But its the environment which will benefit the most from our success," said Dryad CEO Carsten Brinkschulte.

With 20% of global CO2 emissions, forest fires are a major driver of climate change. Dryad develops Silvanet, an innovative system for the ultra-early detection of forest fires. Silvanet combines solar-powered gas sensors with artificial intelligence that detect fires in less than 60 minutes and report them over a large-scale wireless network. Early detection allows fire fighters to get to the source of the fire in time and extinguish the fire before it spreads out of control.

"Our technology is groundbreaking in environmental data sensor technology and offers enormous further potential in this area," Brinkschulte continues.

The jury of the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg, chaired by Prof. Oliver Günther, Ph.D., President of the University of Potsdam, has selected the ten best innovations in the capital region as nominees from 168 applications in the competition for the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg.

The award ceremony with the announcement of the award winners will take place on 26 November 2021.

About the Innovation Award:

With the Innovation Award, the economic administrations of the two states of Berlin and Brandenburg annually honor innovative and outstanding entrepreneurial work. With the involvement of commercial enterprises and other institutions as private partners, the prize was and is also a prize of the economy for the economy. Since the first award in 1984 (together with Brandenburg since 1992), there have been more than 165 award winners and over 4,300 applications.

178 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page